Q&A · Reading

Blog Tour: A Q&A with James Nicol

Today I’m delighted to be a stop on the blog tour for A WITCH COME TRUE, the fabulous finale to James Nicol’s THE APPRENTICE WITCH trilogy for a Q&A. If you haven’t read this gem of a series yet, here’s the summary of the final book:

42613222The war is over and Arianwyn has discovered the secret of the quiet glyphs, but her troubles are far from over.

Her day-to-day work as Lull’s witch is tricky enough: winter has set in, bringing bad weather, ice imps and befuddling Yule traditions. But when Arianwyn’s grandmother is abducted by the traitor on the Council, our witch faces her greatest challenge yet. What really makes a witch come true? Our lovable heroine is about to find out …

The final instalment of James Nicol’s popular witchy trilogy, perfect for fans of The Worst Witch and Diana Wynne Jones.

 

Now onto the questions!

1 / How does it feel to be saying goodbye to Arianwyn and her world after three books?

Well, I don’t really feel as though I’ve said goodbye to them yet, probably because I don’t want to!! It has felt odd writing new things, I’ve been so focused on Arianwyn and her stories for the past six years that to suddenly turn to knew things has been a challenge – even as it is exciting to do something new. Clearly its conflicting!! 😀

2 / Do you have a favourite Glyph, and if so –why is it your favourite?

Bria (the air glyph) was probably the first one I drew when it all fell into place for me about how the glyphs would actually appear to the witches – something I had struggled with through several early drafts! I like that it is reminiscent of a musical note and (I think) fairly unique. I was thrilled when Chicken House said they would add the actual symbols in with the text in the books – those are my actual drawings added in!

 3 / What’s Arianwyn doing five years from now?

Oooh what a great question – and tricky too – how to answer it without giving anything away…? Well she’d be in her early twenties. I like to imagine her most likely still serving as the witch for Lull mostly – but with her skills she’s bound to have been given the odd special mission here and there to help the Council of Elders out, perhaps more journeys into the great wood or to the other kingdoms on some secret mission. Perhaps she has her own apprentice to look after as well – what a challenge that would be for her!

4 / It was recently announced that The Apprentice Witch Trilogy is going to be adapted for TV (YAY!). Have you got a favourite book-to-tv/book-to-movie adaptation?

It’s so very exciting!!! After books, movies and TV are my very favourite things! I really love The Hunger Games books and film adaptations. And any of the Studio Ghibli book adaptations, Howls Moving Castle, Arriety, Earthsea etc. Always so beautiful and absorbing – but never dumbed down in anyway, the complexity of those stories remains.

5 / Are you working on anything new and if so, can you give a hint as to what it’s about?

I am!  I’ve been playing with several ideas, which is so nice and certainly good to mess about a bit – but it also feels odd not having something fixed to go too straight after finishing A Witch Come True. But I’m quite a way into a first draft of a book that doesn’t have a title yet. (But I’m not great at titles anyway so I’m not worried about that – yet!) As I’m still getting to know the characters and story myself I don’t want to give too much away, as so much can change but I can tell you there are a host of magical creatures in it and the setting is an island that can disappear at will!  Watch this space!

Quickfire Round

Tea or coffee? Hot chocolate, please! ;D

Early riser or Night Owl? Early riser.

The best piece of advice you’ve ever been given is… Just get on and write the book!

Favourite book you’ve read so far in 2019? Has to be – ‘We Are Blood & Thunder’ – written by my brilliant Chicken House editor, Kesia Lupo – it’s soooooo awesome! I’ve also loved ‘The Maker of Monsters’ by Lorraine Gregory and I’ve just started ‘Wildsspark’ by Vashti Hardy and that’s wonderful!

Can you describe A Witch Come True in three words? Magical, adventurous, fun!

A MASSIVE thank-you to James for these great and insightful answers, and make sure you check out the other stops on The Witch Come True blog tour.

AeZXwjUf

One thought on “Blog Tour: A Q&A with James Nicol

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s