Reading

Books I’m So Excited For I Pre-Ordered Them

Pre-orders mean a lot to authors. They help to generate buzz for a book, to build anticipation. I try and pre-order as much as possible, especially books/series/authors that I love, because (just like leaving an Amazon review) it’s another way of saying “I support you” to an author. HOWEVER, I’m also a broke PhD student, so I have to be pretty darn selective when it comes to the old pre-ordering. Here are the books I have on pre-order right now:

A Pocketful of Stars by Aisha Bushby

Can piecing together the past help you change the present?43667892

When I next open my eyes, I’m back . . . in front of the house again.
It’s night time. The stars wave hello, like they’ve been expecting me.
The door of the house, Mum’s house, is wide open, like it expects me too.
This time, I go inside . . .

Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming and Safiya doesn’t think they have anything in common. As Safiya struggles to fit in at school she wonders if her mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend Elle. But then her mum falls into a coma and, when Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange alternative world that looks a bit like one of her games. And there’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar . . .

Romanov by Nadine Brandes

40590407The history books say I died.

They don’t know the half of it.

Anastasia “Nastya” Romanov was given a single mission: to smuggle an ancient spell into her suitcase on her way to exile in Siberia. It might be her family’s only salvation. But the leader of the Bolshevik army is after them . . . and he’s hunted Romanov before.

Nastya’s only chances of survival are to either release the spell, and deal with the consequences, or enlist help from Zash, the handsome soldier who doesn’t act like the average Bolshevik. Nastya’s never dabbled in magic before, but it doesn’t frighten her as much as her growing attraction for Zash. She likes him. She thinks he might even like her . . .

That is, until she’s on one side of a firing squad . . . and he’s on the other.

Enchantée by Gita Trelease

Paris in 1789 is a labyrinth of twisted streets, filled with beggars, thieves, 36613718revolutionaries—and magicians…

When smallpox kills her parents, Camille Durbonne must find a way to provide for her frail, naive sister while managing her volatile brother. Relying on petty magic—la magie ordinaire—Camille painstakingly transforms scraps of metal into money to buy the food and medicine they need. But when the coins won’t hold their shape and her brother disappears with the family’s savings, Camille must pursue a richer, more dangerous mark: the glittering court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette.

With dark magic forbidden by her mother, Camille transforms herself into the ‘Baroness de la Fontaine’ and is swept up into life at the Palace of Versailles, where aristocrats both fear and hunger for la magie. There, she gambles at cards, desperate to have enough to keep herself and her sister safe. Yet the longer she stays at court, the more difficult it becomes to reconcile her resentment of the nobles with the enchantments of Versailles. And when she returns to Paris, Camille meets a handsome young balloonist—who dares her to hope that love and liberty may both be possible.

But la magie has its costs. And when Camille loses control of her secrets, the game she’s playing turns deadly. Then revolution erupts, and she must choose—love or loyalty, democracy or aristocracy, freedom or magic—before Paris burns…

Rival Queens: The Betrayal of Mary, Queen of Scots by Kate Williams

36645948-2Elizabeth and Mary: cousins, rivals, queens. They loved each other, they hated each other – they could never escape one another. Kate Williams’s thrilling new history tells the story of Elizabeth I of England and her betrayal of Mary, Queen of Scots. At the end of the Tudor era, here were two women on two thrones. But this was a man’s world and many believed that no woman should govern. All around Elizabeth and Mary were sycophants, spies and detractors who wanted their power, their favour and their bodies. And so they became one another’s closest confidants in the struggle to be both women and queens. Alliances were few, but for many years theirs survived – until the forces rising against them, and the struggles of love and dynasty, drove them apart. It was a schism that would end in secret assassination plots, devastating betrayal and, eventually, the signing of Mary’s death warrant in Elizabeth’s hand. Kate Williams’ Rival Queens offers an electrifying new perspective on Elizabeth and Mary, and the most important relationship of their lives – that which they had with one another.

Against All Gods (Who Let the Gods Out?) by Maz Evans

The fourth and final book in the hilarious bestselling WHO LET THE GODS OUT 40958321series; perfect for fans of David Solomons!

‘I totally fell in love with Elliot and the gods, and I think you’re all going to love them too.’ ROBIN STEVENS on book 1
‘One of the funniest new voices in children’s literature. Thelaughs come thick and fast’ DAVID SOLOMONS on book 1

In the series finale of Maz Evans’ bestselling Who Let the Gods Out? series, Elliot faces his darkest period yet. As well as facing up to his fears, he realises that the future of mankind – and the survival of everything he holds dear – is at stake. But can a bunch of misfit gods, a lost constellation and a mortal boy stand up to the daemon hordes?

Murder at the Museum (Agatha Oddly, Book 2) by Lena Jones

40696023-2A second mystery for thirteen-year-old Agatha Oddly – a bold, determined heroine, and the star of this stylish new detective series.

Agatha Oddlow’s set to become the youngest member of the Gatekeepers’ Guild, but before that, she’s got a mystery to solve!

There’s been a murder at the British Museum and, although the police are investigating, Agatha suspects that they’re missing a wider plot going on below London – a plot involving a disused Tube station, a huge fireworks display, and five thousand tonnes of gold bullion…

 

So there you have it. It’s a pretty eclectic mix, which represents where my reading taste is at the moment! I have some historical non-fiction, middle grade (always and forever), and historical fantasy. I am VERY excited to read Romanov, mainly because it sounds SO cool and also unlike anything I’ve read before.

What books are you pre-ordering this year?

4 thoughts on “Books I’m So Excited For I Pre-Ordered Them

  1. I honestly rarely pre-order anything, though I can’t say why haha. It’s not really a conscious choice? I do usually buy the ones I’m really excited for pretty close after the release date, but I never really think about pre-ordering them? I think the only time I pre-ordered a book was The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan, and that was only because it was signed.

    These all sound very interesting though! Especially Romanov, I’ve always been fascinated with the Romanovs so I have to look into this one 😀

    1. Ah, I used to never pre-order! Now I see it as a present to future me — mainly coz I generally forget I’ve pre-ordered things and then it’s a lovely surprise! Yes, me too — I can’t wait to read that one!

  2. I’ve already read Against All Gods, and it’s the perfect finale for Elliot and the gods imo! So excited for A Pocketful of Stars, and I really must read the Agatha Oddly books as they sound very me, especially since you enjoyed them so much.
    Amy x

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s