Reading · To Be Read

My Five Most Anticipated Books of 2016

2016 is so close, which is crazy. I’m a little upset Christmas is nearly over, but one thing that is keeping me going are the AMAZING books that are being released next year! Here are my five most anticipated:

Jolly Foul Play (Murder Most Unladylike #4) // Robin Stevens

jfp

The fantastic new mystery from the author of Murder Most Unladylike.

Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong have returned to Deepdean for a new school term, but nothing is the same. There’s a new Head Girl, Elizabeth Hurst, and a team of Prefects – and these bullying Big Girls are certainly notgood eggs.

Then, after the fireworks display on Bonfire Night, Elizabeth is found – murdered.

Many girls at Deepdean had reason to hate Elizabeth, but who might have committed such foul play? Could the murder be linked to the secrets and scandals, scribbled on scraps of paper, that are suddenly appearing around the school? And with their own friendship falling to pieces, how will Daisy and Hazel solve this mystery?

Praise for the Murder Most Unladylike series:

‘Ripping good fun’ The Times

‘Thrilling’ Guardian

‘Top class’ Financial Times

‘A delight’ Daily Mail

I’ve gone on and on about how much I have ADORED Robin’s books, so it should come as no surprise that I am very excited to read the fourth book in this fantastic series. I am very excited to return to bun breaks.

Pilfer Academy // Lauren Magaziner

pa

Fans of Escape From Mr. Lemencello’s Library and Roald Dahl will gobble up this hilarious story about a secret boarding school for thieves-in-training!

Troublemaking George has never heard of Pilfer Academy, a top-secret school for cultivating young crooks, until he’s kidnapped as its newest student. The teachers are kooky at best, and naughty does not even begin to describe his sneaky, smart, and morally bankrupt new classmates. Between disguise classes, cracking safes, and DIY gadgets, George becomes an expert bandit and finds true friendship with Tabitha, his new partner-in-crime. But everything is ruined when George comes to a shocking realization: He is just too good-hearted to be a thief!

Unfortunately, not thieving is not an option at Pilfer Academy, and “misbehaving” students face Dean Deanbuggle’s favorite punishment—the Whirlyblerg! In order to gain their freedom, George and Tabitha must pull the biggest heist the school has ever seen and reveal their true colors not as thieves, but as kind (and, okay, mischievous) kids. Summary from Goodreads.

I love, love, LOVED Lauren’s first book, THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN WITCHES, so I am super excited about this one. Plus, the summary seems SO cool and right up my street! And I’ve only got to wait till February 16th till it’s out!!

The Peculiar Haunting of Thelma Bee // Erin Petti

tbb

 

Ghost-story lover and debut author Erin Petti has written a quirky story for fans of The Goonies, Goosebumps, and Coraline.

In this fantastical adventure-mystery, where science and magic intertwine, eleven-year-old Thelma Bee is never bored. In fact, she has curiosity and adventure in her blood. She spends her time running science experiments, practicing Spanish, and daydreaming about exotic landscapes. But Thelma gets more than she bargained for when a strange woman sells a jewelry box at her father’s antique shop. That night, a ghost kidnaps her father, and the only clues are the jewelry box and a word the ghost whispered in her ear: “Return.” Now it’s up to Thelma to get her dad back, and it might be harder than she thought—there’s someone wielding dark magic, and they’re coming after her next. Summary from Goodreads.

Okay so this book is a quirky mystery with ghosts?!!! Where’s the heart face emoji when you need it!! This sounds absolutely WONDERFUL and the comparison titles are amazing. Seriously I cannot wait to read this one!!!

The Key to Extraordinary // Natalie Lloyd

kte

Everyone in Emma’s family is special. Her ancestors include Revolutionary War spies, brilliant scientists, and famous musicians–every single one of which learned of their extraordinary destiny through a dream.

For Emma, her own dream can’t come soon enough. Right before her mother died, Emma promised that she’d do whatever it took to fulfill her destiny, and she doesn’t want to let her mother down.

But when Emma’s dream finally arrives, it points her toward an impossible task–finding a legendary treasure hidden in her town’s cemetery. If Emma fails, she’ll let down generations of extraordinary ancestors . . . including her own mother. But how can she find something that’s been missing for centuries and might be protected by a mysterious singing ghost?

With her signature blend of lyrical writing, quirky humor, and unforgettable characters, Natalie Lloyd’s The Key to Extraordinary cements her status as one of the most original voices writing for children today. Summary from Goodreads.

FACT: I’ve had this book on preorder since it became available to preorder. That’s because Natalie’s first book, A Snicker of Magic, is just brilliant and amazing and great and…I’m going to run out of words but–just read it. This book sounds just as amazing. Seriously–a singing ghost?? Natalie is also lovely and charming and wonderful and has SO much talent (and the world’s cutest pooch) so what I am trying to say is (A) read A Snicker of Magic if you haven’t already and (B) preorder The Key to Extraordinary because it looks freaking awesome.

 

Some Kind of Happiness // Claire Legrand

skoh

THINGS FINLEY HART DOESN’T WANT TO TALK ABOUT

• Her parents, who are having problems. (But they pretend like they’re not.)
• Being sent to her grandparents’ house for the summer.
• Never having met said grandparents.
• Her blue days—when life feels overwhelming, and it’s hard to keep her head up. (This happens a lot.)

Finley’s only retreat is the Everwood, a forest kingdom that exists in the pages of her notebook. Until she discovers the endless woods behind her grandparents’ house and realizes the Everwood is real–and holds more mysteries than she’d ever imagined, including a family of pirates that she isn’t allowed to talk to, trees covered in ash, and a strange old wizard living in a house made of bones.

With the help of her cousins, Finley sets out on a mission to save the dying Everwood and uncover its secrets. But as the mysteries pile up and the frightening sadness inside her grows, Finley realizes that if she wants to save the Everwood, she’ll first have to save herself.

Reality and fantasy collide in this powerful, heartfelt novel about family, depression, and the power of imagination. Summary from Goodreads.

Claire Legrand is a must read author for me – her books are just gorgeous and dark and I will buy everything she puts out. I also am really, really looking forward to this book because it deals with mental health, a topic is that is SO important. ALSO — that cover is just amazing!!

 

YAY BOOKS! What 2016 releases are you most excited for?

2 thoughts on “My Five Most Anticipated Books of 2016

  1. We apparently have similar tastes in books because this lineup looks amazing! Or rather, as Felicity Pickle would say, “Spindiddly!” Going to add these to my TBR list immediately…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s