Uncategorized

January Summary and Febuary TBR List :)

I seriously can not believe how fast January went! 2012 seems like ages ago. However, I can believe that my new years resolution not to buy books didn’t see this side of January – what can I say? I am a book-a-holic!

January Summary ❤

So back in Ye Olden Times at the beginning of January I set out to read three books. They were…

fairyland

 

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne Valente – This is a book I will read over and over again. I love it. It whimsy and dark and perfect and September is one of my favourite heroines. Read my original review here

 

 

 

good omens

Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett – LOVED this. Great characters, as usual and a interesting, original plot! Packed full of laugh out loud moments and a must read for fans of either or both authors. My review is here

 

 

pride and prejudicePride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – So I have two reading goals for 13′. One to listen to twelve audiobooks a year, and two to read 12 classics. Now, I am about a quarter way through P & P, but every time I go back to my ipad it has gone back to the beginning (is this normal? enlighten me audioheads!)  and because of this I feel like I just cant get into it fully. However, I am enjoying Joanna Lumley’s AMAZING narration. So P & P will continue onto Febs TBR list.

As I mentioned before, my book ban crashed and burned this month, and after seeing the movie poster for Beautiful Creatures everyday at Uni, I succumbed to the books charms. It was amazing. Expect a book and movie review soon. I also got my hands on Beautiful Darkness which I also devoured, and the final two books are winging their way to me as I type!

beautiful creatures

February TBR List ❤

cavendishAt the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society.

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster—lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he’s not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out…different. Or they don’t come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it’s Victoria—even if it means getting a little messy.

I came across Claire Legrand on twitter, and I have literally been stalking her blog ever since! Her website has the first chapter up of Cavendish and it was one of the best opening chapters I’ve read. I am so excited to read this middle grade dark fantasy , doesn’t it sound so good and terrifying!

Not only that, but Claire is incredibly funny and full of great advice for aspiring authors!

Check Claire out at http://claire-legrand.com/

 

benedict 1‘”Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?” ad attracts dozens for mind-bending tests readers may try. Only two boys and two girls succeed for a secret mission, undercover and underground into hidden tunnels. At the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, the only rule is – there are no rules.’

I also picked up The Mysterious Benedict Society, another MG book which I have wanted to read for ages, and just never got round to it!

 

beautiful chaosEthan Wate thought he was getting used to the strange, impossible events happening in Gatlin, his small Southern town. But now that Ethan and Lena have returned home, strange and impossible have taken on new meanings. Swarms of locusts, record-breaking heat, and devastating storms ravage Gatlin as Ethan and Lena struggle to understand the impact of Lena’s Claiming. Even Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals is affected – and their abilities begin to dangerously misfire. As time passes, one question becomes clear: What — or who — will need to be sacrificed to save Gatlin?

For Ethan, the chaos is a frightening but welcome distraction. He’s being haunted in his dreams again, but this time it isn’t by Lena – and whatever is haunting him is following him out of his dreams and into his everyday life. Even worse, Ethan is gradually losing pieces of himself — forgetting names, phone numbers, even memories. He doesn’t know why, and most days he’s too afraid to ask.

Sometimes there isn’t just one answer or one choice. Sometimes there’s no going back. And this time there won’t be a happy ending.

How could I not? This series is just so addictive and I cannot wait to read the third in the series! I’m already missing Ethan and Lena!

I hope you’ve enjoyed my Feb TBR list! I hope you’ve all had a great start to 2013!

Laura 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “January Summary and Febuary TBR List :)

  1. The Mysterious Benedict Society is a very good series — my husband enjoyed it more than I did since I’m not as much of a fan of Middle Grade books, but if you do like that genre, they really are excellent.

    And the movie trailers are really making me want to read Beautiful Creatures!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s